Meet the Haverfordwest team

Rebecca Voyle

County Executive Officer

How long with the Union? 19 years

Previous jobs/education? Degree in Accounting, Finance and Law. Worked on a farm that was open to the public from the age of 13 at weekends and school holidays. After graduating joined a consultancy firm who provided advice to farms that were open to the public. Had a temporary job, part of which involved arranging the cleaning of ball pool pits, which put me off ever allowing any children in my care in one when they are with me!! Also volunteered as a crowd control steward at Wrexham Football Club

Home life (married/single etc)? Married to Rob, who is a dairy farmer and have a Miniature Schnauzer called Hettie

Hobbies/other activities outside work? Taking Hettie for long walks on the Pembrokeshire Coast path, helping Pembrokeshire YFC with their stockjudging competitions and Rally, spending time with my nephew and niece and in particular going with my nephew to Swansea City matches whenever we can

What does your job entail? Assisting members with all manners of queries and providing advice and guidance

Most unusual request? Where to obtain a copy of a marriage certificate? To this day I still don’t know why the copy was required but I can confirm that they are still married

What do you enjoy doing most? Being able to provide solutions to members problems

What’s the most important part of your job? The contact with members

Typical day? There is no typical day in this job as no matter how much you plan your day, one phone call from a member with a problem can mean you have to put all your plans to one side to assist them.

 

Susan James

Administrative Assistant

How long with the Union? 20 years Previous jobs/education? Home on family farm

Home life (married/single etc)? Married to Ian and have 5 year old son Eifion

Hobbies/other activities outside work? Home on parents farm as well as looking after our herd of pedigree herefords on husbands farm

What does your job entail? Helping members What do you enjoy doing most? Talking to

members What’s the most important part of your job? Keeping everyone happy.

 

Kelly John Insurance Account Handler

How long with the Union? Started April 29 2019

Previous jobs/education? The Grove Hotel. Tasker Milward VC School

Home life (married/single etc)? Single

Hobbies/other activities outside work?

Exploring and finding new adventures with the dogs, running, socialising with friends and spending time with family

What does your job entail? Following through with any requests from my Account Executive, answering the phone in a clear and professional manner and dealing with any requests from clients, updating risk details, processing renewals

What do you enjoy doing most? I’d have to say I enjoy everything I do on a daily basis. Any changes clients make are always different so you get the chance to learn something new which I like

What’s the most important part of your job? Knowing how and being able to deal with clients’ needs in a professional and friendly manner

What would you change to make your job even better? Perhaps being out of the office more with the Account Executive

Typical day? Checking any tasks my Account Executive may have set me and following them through, processing renewals, answering the phone and dealing with any client requests during the day.

 

Marion Davies

Senior Administrative Assistant

How long with the Union? 25 – yes 25, that is not a typing error!

Previous jobs/education?

Worked for 13 years in a Georgian
Mansion hotel which belonged to
the Pride of Britain Group. The work
was very rewarding as I got to travel
a lot in the UK visiting other hotels
in the group. Working in the hotel
gave me valuable people skills which
have served me well through all my
jobs in life. Moved to
Pembrokeshire in 1992 and worked
in the front office at Dairy Crest in Whitland until its closure in 1994. As the saying goes, when one door closes another opens and it was in the December of 1994 that I commenced my employment with the FUW!

Home life (married/single etc)? Currently engaged to be married to Elgan (second time around for both of us). Enjoy helping Elgan with his farm which is home from home for me having been brought up on a beef and sheep farm in a little village called Garth near Builth Wells.

Hobbies/other activities outside work? Enjoy listening to classical music and opera – a great way to wind down after a busy day! Love all things rural, nature and the countryside at large. Like to spend time with loved ones and friends and Elgan’s two grandsons – the cheeky monkeys! I like to take regular trips back “home” to Garth to catch up with the family

What does your job entail? That’s a good

question as you never know what query or problem will land on your desk! But in general, answering the phone, keeping office records up-to-date, BCMS movements on behalf of members, assisting Rebecca Voyle in the organising of meetings and events in the county. A varied job to say the least!

Most unusual request? I once had a member phone the office and ask “tell me Marion, what was said in mart yesterday?” I replied, very politely, that I wasn’t sure but if I happened to find out then he would be the first to know – I’m sorry to say I never did find out and the member is now farming

that great estate in the sky the one that we all hope we will end up in!

What do you enjoy doing most? Love, just love talking to our members about all sorts of stuff. They are such kind souls and are the salt of the earth. Despite the troubled times that we live in, there is still a great generosity, from the heart, of our members. If you were to ask me the question about what I least like about my job then I would have to say hearing about another case of TB. If I could have the power of a magic wand to rid the scurge that is TB then that would be just fantastic. The effects, both mentally and physically, that it has on farming families is cruel

What’s the most important part of your job?

Helping to solve issues for members and hopefully giving them peace of mind at the same time

Typical day? 9am-5pm but with the odd curve ball thrown in just enough to throw what was your planned day right out of the window!

 

Melony Richards

Senior Account

Executive

How long with the Union?

Nearly 19 years

Previous jobs/education?

Started work as a travel agent on leaving school at 16 and after being made redundant after 4 years I was employed at Lloyd Motors in Cardigan as the Accounts Clerk which lasted for 10 years when I decided a change was needed and was lucky enough to be offered the post of Area Officer for Mid Pembrokeshire. The post has now expanded to cover the whole of Pembrokeshire

Home life (married/single etc)? I live with my 21-year-old son in the lovely village of Hermon in North Pembrokeshire

Hobbies/other activities outside work? Arranging holidays for friends and family, member of Clwb Gwawr Hermon, Trustee of the local community hall, going on outings/holidays with friends, reading

What does your job entail? Looking after clients insurance needs, be it quoting for any new business, assessing current clients policies, claims etc etc

Most unusual request? There are many but I cannot tell you what they are as they may read this!

What do you enjoy doing most? Dealing with the clients, they are what makes this job so enjoyable

What’s the most important part of your job? The people What would you change to make your job even better?

More time in the day

Typical day? Reviewing renewals, quoting new business, dealing with claims, discussing policies with clients, making changes to policies etc – no two days are the same

Anything else? I count myself extremely lucky to do a job that I love, not many people are able to say this.

 

Dewi Evans

Insurance Account Handler

How long with the Union? Since June 2001

Previous jobs/ education? Carmarthen Grammar School and NatWest Bank

Home life
(married/single
etc)? Divorced, have a son and daughter

Hobbies/other activities outside work? Walking, sports, Ornithology, family

What does your job entail? Assisting Account Executive, maintenance of policy records and amendments, Compliance, Accounts, dealing with telephone enquiries

What do you enjoy doing most?

Seeing clients’ needs being met

What’s the most important part of your job? To be compliant

What would you change to make your job even better? To be out of the office more

Typical day? Actioning policy changes, dealing with telephone enquiries, assisting the Account Executive, maintenance of policy records and correspondence.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.